Medical Experts

• Author
      • Ingrid Booth

I am a 57 year old teacher. November 2019 I was diagnosed with GBS following Chickenpox and spent 8 days in ICU. I left hospital on 24 January 2020. I am still struggling with fatigue and loss of muscle mass in my legs. I have pain, swelling and numbness in my toes and it feel like I am walking on a cushion under the ball of my feet. Are these symptoms related to GBS and how can I overcome my fatigue.

• Gareth Parry

Keymaster

Hi Ingrid: The symptoms you describe are all quite common in patients who have had severe GBS. The nerve damage that developed during the acute attack can take a long time to heal and, unfortunately, is sometimes permanent. Although it seems a long time to you, in fact it can take more than a year to achieve maximum recovery so I would expect continued improvement for a while yet. There are a number of different treatments available for the pain so talk to your doctor about that. Fatigue is one of the commonest and most debilitating of the GBS after-effects and I will leave that for Dr. Suzie Mudge, a neurophysiotherapist who is a member of our Medical Advisory Board and an expert on fatigue management, to address (see below). Gareth.

The fatigue is related to your GBS in two ways. Firstly, when you lose muscle mass, you have less strength and remaining muscle fibres can get overworked leading to muscle fatigue because the muscle can’t maintain repetitive force because its energy is depleted. This kind of fatigue recovers quite quickly so after a few minutes rest, the muscle can work again. This type of fatigue improves with strength and endurance training.